EU grants: H2020 Guidance note — Funding of applicants from non-EU countries & international organisations: V2.1 - 22.08.2017



EUROPEAN COMMISSION Directorate-General for Research & Innovation

Guidance note— Funding of applicants from non-EU countries & international organisations

Horizon 2020 – Open to the world!

Applicants from non-EU countries are almost **always free to** *take part* in Horizon 2020 programmes — even if the call for proposals or topic text do not state this explicitly.

They are not always automatically entitled to funding.

All applications must meet the **minimum conditions** in the H2020 Rules for Participation Regulation No $1290/2013^1$.

What does 'non-EU countries' mean?

This means any country/territory that is NOT one of the following:

- a Member State of the European Union (EU)
- an overseas country or territory linked to an EU country.

Eligibility for funding

Applicants from non-EU countries fall into 2 categories:

- those automatically eligible for funding
- those not automatically eligible for funding (though they may still be funded in exceptional cases).

Non-EU applicants automatically eligible for funding

Any applicant based in a country which is associated to Horizon 2020 is **automatically** eligible for funding.

Additionally, applicants based in any of the countries listed here are automatically eligible for funding under the Horizon 2020 budget:

Afghanistan, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi

Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic People's Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia Fiii Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana Haiti, Honduras Indonesia, Iran, Iraq Jamaica, Jordan Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic), Kosovo*, Kyrgyz Republic Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambigue, Myanmar Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines Rwanda Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam Yemen Zambia, Zimbabwe.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Non-EU applicants exceptionally eligible for funding

All other non-EU applicants may **exceptionally** be granted funding if:

- there is a bilateral scientific/technological agreement or similar arrangement between the EU and the country where the applicant is based which explicitly provides for such funding
- the call for proposals clearly states that applicants based in such countries are eligible for funding

or

- their participation is considered essential for carrying out the action by us on the grounds that participation by the applicant has clear benefits for the consortium, such as:
 - o outstanding competence/expertise
 - o access to research infrastructure
 - o access to particular geographical environments
 - access to data.

A number of these have made specific provisions for making national funding available for their participants in Horizon 2020 projects:

- Co-funding mechanism covering most or all thematic areas: China, Hong Kong & Macao, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Taiwan
- Co-funding mechanism covering selected thematic areas: Australia, India, Japan
- Co-funding by region: Brazil, Canada
- Countries without jointly agreed co-funding mechanism: New Zealand, USA

Funding for international organisations

Certain types of international organisations (i.e. international organisations, the majority of whose members are Member States or associated countries, and whose principal objective is to promote scientific and technological cooperation in Europe) are automatically eligible.

Other organisations may be eligible if their participation is considered essential for carrying out the action.

Specific advice for applicants from non-EU countries

When is it mandatory for a consortium to include non-EU participants?

Some calls require a consortium to include participants based in specific non-EU countries in order to be eligible. If so, this requirement (and the countries concerned) will be mentioned in the call for proposals and topic description.

How do I register?

Before being able to sign a grant agreement, you must register via the Beneficiary Register.

What legal status and financial capacity are needed?

You must:

- be an individual or organisation/institution constituted under the national law of the country where you are based
- have the financial capacity to carry out the research tasks set out in your proposal.

Further information

More information is available in the Participant Portal Online Manual.

HISTORY OF CHANGES		
VERSION	PUBLICATION DATE	CHANGE
1.0	14.02.2014	Initial version
2.0	22.09.2016	Updated version with new list of associated countries and co- funding mechanisms
2.1	22.08.2017	Editorial changes