HAWAII

Hawaii ranks 50th among the states in number of local governments, with 19 as of October 2007.

COUNTY GOVERNMENTS (3)

The entire area of the state is encompassed by county government except for Kalawao County and the city and county of Honolulu.

The boundaries of Kalawao County are coterminous with the Hansen's Disease Settlement made under the jurisdiction of the state department of health. The sole official of Kalawao County is the county sheriff. It is classified, in census statistics on governments, as an adjunct of the state government and is not counted as a separate county government.

The city and county of Honolulu is a consolidated city-county government. It was originally created as Oahu County. Later, it was granted additional powers and a modified governmental structure and was officially designated the city and county of Honolulu. For census statistics on governments, the city and county of Honolulu is counted as a municipal government rather than as a county government.

In the three counties with county government--Hawaii, Kauai and Maui--the governing body is designated the county council. Each county government also has an elected mayor.

SUBCOUNTY GENERAL PURPOSE GOVERNMENTS (1)

Municipal Governments (1)

Honolulu, which has a combined city and county government, is the only Hawaiian local government that is counted in census statistics on governments as a municipal government.

Township Governments (0)

Hawaii has no township governments.

PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEMS (1)

School District Governments (0)

Hawaii has no independent school district governments.

Dependent Public School Systems (1)

Hawaii has one dependent public school system: the state department of education. It is dependent on the state government.

Law providing for locally administered public schools in Hawaii has been repealed, and all public education is provided by the state department of education. The "school districts" in Hawaii are administrative areas of the state department of education and are not counted as governments in census reporting.

SPECIAL DISTRICT GOVERNMENTS (15)

Hawaii statutes authorize the creation of various special districts or authorities, but only the soil and water conservation districts and the Office of Hawaiian Affairs are counted as governments.

Soil and Water Conservation Districts

These districts are created by the department of land and natural resources upon petition of land occupiers and after public hearing and referendum. A board of two appointed and three elected directors governs each district. A district may require contributions from benefitted landowners and may accept donations.

Office of Hawaiian Affairs

This office was established by voter approval of a constitutional amendment and by action of the state legislature. Its purpose is the betterment of the conditions of native Hawaiians. The office is administered by a board of nine trustees elected by native Hawaiians. The office may issue bonds and receives revenue in connection with a large land trust.

SUBORDINATE AGENCIES AND AREAS

Shown below are various governmental designations in Hawaii that have certain characteristics of governmental units but that are classified in census statistics on governments as subordinate agencies of the state or local governments and are not counted as separate governments. Legal provisions for some of the larger of these are discussed below (see "Public School Systems," above, regarding educational agencies of this nature).

Clean Hawaii Center (state). This entity was established within the department of business, economic development, and tourism. It is responsible for the market development of local processing and manufacturing industries for collected recyclables. A board of 12 members representing the counties, state, financial community, and business community governs the entity. It accepts donations and grants from federal, state, county, or private sources.

Hawaii Community Development Authority (state). This authority was established within the state department of business, economic development, and tourism. A board of eleven members, consisting of seven members appointed by the Governor, plus the state director of finance; the director of business, economic development, and tourism; the director of transportation; and the state comptroller, ex officio, governs the authority. The authority receives revenue from the sale or lease of properties and from federal grants. The authority may issue bonds in such amounts as are authorized by the legislature.

"Community development districts" are administrative areas of the authority and are not counted as governments for census purposes.

Redevelopment agencies (county or municipal). Redevelopment agencies are established by resolution of the city or county governing body. A board of five members

appointed by the mayor governs each agency. In addition to advances or donations from the county or city-county treasury, redevelopment agencies may receive revenues from the sale or lease of cleared land. Redevelopment agencies may issue revenue bonds and accept federal grants.

Stadium Authority (state). This authority was established by act of the legislature. A board consisting of the president of the University of Hawaii and the state superintendent of education, ex officio, plus nine members appointed by the Governor governs the authority. The authority may fix rents, fees, and charges and may receive the proceeds of state bond issues.

Other examples include:

State

Agribusiness Development Corporation Agricultural and rural districts (Land Use Commission)

Aloha Tower Development Corporation Hawaii Health Systems Corporation Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation

Hawaii Public Housing Authority
Hawaii Strategic Development Corporation
High Technology Development Corporation
High Technology Innovation Corporation
Hawaii Tourism Authority
Marine conservation districts
Natural Energy Laboratory of Hawaii Authority
Research Corporation of the University of
Hawaii

County and city-county (Honolulu)

Community facilities districts Public Transit Authority (Honolulu) Water supply boards

Hawaii law also divides the state into administrative districts for election, taxation, judicial, and other purposes.