ELECTION FOR CHAIRS OF SELECT COMMITTEES: RESULTS

Nominations for Chairs of the 24 select committees set out in SO No 122B, as amended by the Order of the House of Monday 7 June, closed on Tuesday 8 June and elections were held by secret ballot on Wednesday 9 June 2010.

No ballot was necessary for 8 committees for which a single nomination had been received, as follows:

Committee:	Elected:
Culture, Media & Sport	Mr John Whittingdale
International Development	Malcolm Bruce
Justice	Sir Alan Beith
Northern Ireland Affairs	Mr Laurence Robertson
Procedure	Mr Greg Knight
Scottish Affairs	Mr Ian Davidson
Transport	Mrs Louise Ellman
Welsh Affairs	David T. C. Davies

In the contested elections, a total of 590 ballot papers were submitted, the ballots being counted under the Alternative Vote system. The following candidates were elected:

Committee:	Elected:
Business, Innovation & Skills	Mr Adrian Bailey
Children, Schools & Families	Mr Graham Stuart
Communities & Local Government	Mr Clive Betts
Defence	Mr James Arbuthnot
Energy & Climate Change	Mr Tim Yeo
Environment, Food & Rural Affairs	Miss Anne McIntosh
Environmental Audit	Joan Walley
Foreign Affairs	Richard Ottaway
Health	Mr Stephen Dorrell
Home Affairs	Keith Vaz
Political and Constitutional Reform	Mr Graham Allen
Public Accounts	Margaret Hodge
Public Administration	Mr Bernard Jenkin
Science & Technology	Andrew Miller
Treasury	Mr Andrew Tyrie
Work & Pensions	Miss Anne Begg

The full breakdown of voting in each contest, indicating the votes attributable to each candidate after each redistribution of the votes of eliminated candidates, is set out in the tables below.

1. BUSINESS INNNOVA	Total 1 st round valid votes: 551			
	1 st round	2 nd round		
Mr Adrian Bailey	261	297	ELECTED	
Geraint Davies	90 (excluded)	_		
Mr Barry Sheerman	200	225		
Not redistributed	_	29		

2. CHILDREN, SCHOO	Total 1 st round valid votes: 525			
	1 st round	2 nd round	3 rd round	
Mr Lee Scott	92	105 (excluded)	_	
Mr Graham Stuart	192	210	244	ELECTED
Mr Andrew Turner	82 (excluded)	_	_	
Rob Wilson	159	183	221	
Not redistributed	_	27	33	

3. COMMUNITIES & L	Total 1 st round valid votes: 555		
	1 st round		
Mr Clive Betts	279	ELECTED	
Mr Nick Raynsford	276		
Not redistributed	_		

4. DEFENCE				Total 1 st round valid votes: 573
	1 st round	2 nd round	3 rd round	
Mr James Arbuthnot	210	236	273	ELECTED
Mr Douglas Carswell	72 (excluded)		_	
Dr Julian Lewis	115	132 (excluded)	_	
Patrick Mercer	176	189	245	
Not redistributed	_	16	39	

5. ENERGY & CLIMATE (Total 1 st round valid votes: 550			
	1 st round			
Mr Philip Hollobone	201			
Mr Tim Yeo	349	ELECTED		
Not redistributed				

6. ENVIRONMENT, FO	Total 1 st round valid votes: 556			
	1 st round	2 nd round	3 rd round	
Mr James Gray	86 (excluded)	_	_	
Mr Stewart Jackson	168	195	234	
Miss Anne McIntosh	215	239	266	ELECTED
Neil Parish	87	100 (excluded)	_	
Not redistributed	_	22	34	

7. ENVIRONMENTAL	Total 1 st round valid votes: 537		
	1 st round		
Barry Gardiner	208		
Joan Walley	329	ELECTED	
Not redistributed	_		

8. FOREIGN				Total 1 st round valid votes: 552
	1 st round	2 nd round		
Mr John Baron	173 (excluded)	_		
Richard Ottaway	200	281	ELECTED	
Sir John Stanley	179	215		
Not redistributed	-	56		

9. HEALTH	Total 1 st round valid votes: 572			
	1 st round	2 nd round		
Sir Paul Beresford	114	130		
Mr Peter Bone	77 (excluded)	_		
Mr Stephen Dorrell	262	283	ELECTED	
Nadine Dorries	119	143		
Not redistributed	_	16		

10. HOME	Total 1 st round valid votes: 578			
	1 st round			
Alun Michael	242			
Keith Vaz	336	ELECTED		
Not redistributed	_			

11. POLITICAL & CONSTITUTIONAL REFORM				Total 1 st round valid votes: 566
	1 st round	2 nd round		
Mr Graham Allen	277	295	ELECTED	
Dr Hywel Francis	102	111		
Fiona Mactaggart	124	141		
Dr Alan Whitehead	63 (excluded)	_		
Not redistributed		19		

12. PUBLIC ACCOUNTS						Total 1 st round valid votes: 578	
	1 st round	2 nd round	3 rd round	4 th round	5 th 1	round	
Hugh Bayley	111	119	143	165	221		
Mr Brian H. Donohoe	90	98	112	134 (ex- cluded)	_		
Margaret Hodge	148	160	169	197	227	1	ELECTED
Mr Michael Meacher	65 (ex- cluded)	_	_	_			
Austin Mitchell	74	90 (ex- cluded	_	_			
Iain Wright	90	95	109 (ex- cluded)	_	_		
Not redistributed		16	29	37	48		

13. PUBLIC ADMINISTRA	Total 1 st round valid votes: 560			
	1 st round	2 nd round		
Mr Christopher Chope	132 (excluded)	_		
Mr Bernard Jenkin	248	293	ELECTED	
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger	180	220		
Not redistributed	<u> </u>	47		

14. SCIENCE & TECH	Total 1 st round valid votes: 535		
	1 st round		
Andrew Miller	304	ELECTED	
Graham Stringer	231		
Not redistributed	_		

15. TREASURY				Total 1 st round valid votes: 571
	1 st round			
Michael Fallon	219			
Mr Andrew Tyrie	352	ELECTED		
Not redistributed	_			

16.WORK & PENSIONS				Total 1 st round valid votes: 542
	1 st round			
Miss Anne Begg	278	ELECTED		
Ms Karen Buck	264			
Not redistributed	_			