

## **EUROPEAN UNION**



Brussels, 2 March 2011 7168/11 PRESSE 44

## Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with the Council Decision 2011/101/CFSP concerning restrictive measures against Zimbabwe

On 15 February 2011, the Council adopted Council Decision 2011/101/CFSP<sup>1</sup>. The Council Decision renews the restrictive measures against Zimbabwe for 12 months and amends the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures.

This declaration is made to announce that the following countries have declared that they share the objectives of Council Decision 2011/101/CFSP: The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia\*, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia<sup>\*</sup>, Montenegro\* and Iceland <sup>†</sup>, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>†</sup> Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.



Rue de la Loi 175 B - 1048 BRUSSELS Tel.: +32 (0)2 281 6319 Fax: +32 (0)2 281 8026 press.office@consilium.europa.eu http://www.consilium.europa.eu/Newsroom

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Published on 15.02.2011 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 41, p. 9

<sup>\*</sup> Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process