

IAAF President's Message

Creation of IAAF Hall of Fame, 8 March 2012

As part of the celebrations to mark to the Centennial Year of the International Association of Athletics Federations, the IAAF is proud to announce the inauguration of the IAAF Hall of Fame in 2012.

The creation of the IAAF Hall of Fame which has long been a vision of the sport's world governing body is an excellent way not only to honour the lifetime achievements of our greatest athletes, but also to heighten public awareness of our sport and its rich history.

2012 is more than an appropriate moment to launch the Hall of Fame because as well as the IAAF Centenary in 2012, any year which celebrates an edition of the summer Olympics is always of special importance given Athletics' honoured position as the Olympics' number one sport. We have a history entwined with the Games. Athletics' greatest heroes and heroines are largely those of the Olympic Games too

Induction into the IAAF Hall of Fame must be seen as the crowning glory of an athlete's career, the highest possible accolade which should rival any medal, trophy and award achieved. Membership must honour the truly outstanding athletes of our history who have been both multiple global champions and record breakers.

Membership of the Hall of Fame

To give the Hall of Fame the required stature the IAAF has established very strict requirements. The **Minimum Criteria** for an athlete to even qualify to be considered for membership are as follows:

- 1) Athletes must have won at least two Olympic or World Championships gold medals AND at set least one World record.
- 2) Athletes must have been retired for at least 10 years at the time of election to the IAAF Hall of Fame.

IAAF Hall of Fame Selection Panel

To administer the process of which athletes will be honoured with induction as Members, an IAAF Hall of Fame Selection Panel has been created.

To keep the process as independent and as transparent as possible the IAAF Hall of Fame Selection Panel includes athletics experts and also long-standing members of the Association of Track and Field Statisticians (ATFS): The Panel is chaired by IAAF Senior Vice President Bob Hersh (USA), who has himself been a member of the ATFS for more than 35 years.

24 inaugural Members to be inducted in 2012

To mark the IAAF Centenary, a total of 24 athletes will become the inaugural Members of the IAAF Hall of Fame in 2012, with the Official Induction Ceremony taking place at the IAAF Centenary Gala in Barcelona on Saturday 24 November 2012.

These 24 athletes will represent all IAAF Areas and include all major event groups (sprint, middle distance, long distance, hurdles, jumps, throws, combined events, race walk, and road running).



We are delighted to announce the first 12 athletes today in Istanbul on the eve of the IAAF World Indoor Championships. The remaining 12 names will be made public between now and the IAAF Centenary Gala in a series of announcements to coincide with important Centennial events including the actual day of the IAAF Centenary (Tue 17 Jul) and the traditional IAAF Dinner (Thu 2 Aug) in London on the eve of the start of the Olympic Athletics programme.

The first 12 inaugural Members for 2012 are...

Jesse Owens (USA)

1936 100/200/LJ + WR 100, 200 & LJ (25 years)

Abebe Bikila (ETH)

1960, 1964 Oly MAR + WR

Paavo Nurmi (FIN)

1920 10,000, 1924 1500/5000 & 1928 10,000 + WR 1500, Mile, 3000, 5000 & 10,000

Carl Lewis (USA)

1984 100/200/LJ & 1988/1992/1996 LJ + WR 100 + 5 world titles

Emil Zátopek (TCH)

1948 10,000 & 1952 5000/10,000/Mar + WR 5000 & 10,000

Al Oerter (USA)

1956/1960/1964/1968 DT + WR DT

Adhemar da Silva (BRA)

1952/1956 TJ + WR TJ

Ed Moses (USA)

1976/1984 400H + WR 400H (16 years) + 2 world titles

Fanny Blankers-Koen (NED)

1948 100/200/80H + WR 100, 80H, HJ, LJ & Pen

Betty Cuthbert (AUS)

1956 100/200 & 1964 400 + WR 200

Jackie Joyner-Kersee (USA)

1988 LJ/Hep & 1992 Hep + WR LJ & Hep (25 years as at 7.7.2011) + 4 world titles

Wang Junxia (CHN)

1996 Oly 5000 & 93 World 10,000 + WR 3000 (18 years as at 12.9.2011) & 10,000 (18 years as at 8.9.2011)

2013 and beyond

From 2013 onwards, the IAAF Hall of Fame Selection Panel will propose at least 4 new additions to the IAAF Hall of Fame each year some time prior to the annual World Athletics Gala.

The IAAF offers its warmest congratulates to all 12 Members announced today.

Lamine Diack IAAF President