Sangeet Natak Akademi

National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama New Delhi

PRESS RELEASE

22 November, 2013

Declaration of Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships (Akademi Ratna) and Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the Year 2013

The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi at its meeting held on 21 November 2013 elected three (3) eminent personalities in the field of performing arts, namely Smt. Kanak Rele, Shri R Sathyanarayana and Shri Mahesh Elkunchwar as Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellows (Akademi Ratna). The Fellowship of the Akademi is the most prestigious and rare honour, which is restricted to a very limited number at a given time. Presently there are only 40 Fellows of the Sangeet Natak Akademi.

The General Council of the Akademi also selected thirty eight (38) artists (2 Joint Awards) from the fields of Music, Dance, Theatre and Puppetry for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the year 2013.

In the field of Music, nine eminent artists, namely Shri Ritwik Sanyal, Smt. Veena Sahasrabuddhe in Hindustani Vocal; Shri Hashmat Ali Khan, Hindustani Instrumental Music (Tabla); Shri Dhruba Ghosh, Hindustani Instrumental Music (Sarangi); Smt. Aruna Sairam, S/Shri D. Seshachari & D Raghavachari Hyderabad Brothers(Joint Award) in Carnatic Vocal; Shri Trichy Sankaran, Carnatic Instrumental Music (Mridangam); Shri Thiruvizha Jayashankar, Carnatic Instrumental Music (Nadaswaram) and Shri Bankim Sethi, Major Traditions of Music (Odissi Music) have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2013.

In the field of Dance, Smt. Jamuna Krishnan and Shri B Herambhanathan, (Bharatanatyam); Smt. Rajashree Shirke (Kathak); Shri Kalamandalam M P S Namboodiri, (Kathakali); Shri Chinta Seetha Ramanjaneyulu (Kuchipudi); Smt Sangeeta Dash (Odissi); Shri Jogen Dutta Bayan (Sattriya); Shri Srinivasa Rangachariar (Major Traditions of Dance

& Dance Theatre (Arayer Sevai) and Shri Dhaneswar Swain, Music for Dance have been selected for the Akademi Awards 2013.

In the field of Theatre, eight eminent persons have been selected for Akademi Awards 2013. They include Shri Rameshwar Prem, Shri Pundalik Narayan Naik in Playwriting; Shri Kamalakar Muralidhar Sontakke, Shri Kewal Dhaliwal, Smt. Prasanna Ramaswamy in the field of Direction; Shri Vasant Josalkar, Smt Kusum Haidar in Acting and Shri Krishna Borkar in the field of Allied Theatre Arts (Make-up).

For their contribution to Traditional/Folk/ Tribal Music/ Dance/ Theatre and Puppetry, eight artists have been selected for the Akademi Awards. They are Smt. Raj Begum, Traditional, Folk Music/Dance & Theatre (Jammu & Kashmir); S/Shri T.A.R. Nadi Rao & N Jeeva Rao (Joint Award), Folk Music (Tamilnadu); Shri Gurdial Singh, Instrument Making (Punjab); Shri Mohan Singh Khangura, Rabindra Sangeet (West Bengal); Shri Umakanta Gogoi (Bairagi), Tokari Geet and Dehbichar Geet, (Assam), Smt Lilavati M Kavi (Bajaj), Puppetry; Smt Meenakshi, Instrument Making - Ghatam (Tamilnadu) and Shri Sheikh Riyajuddin alias Rajubaba, Folk Theatre (Maharashtra).

Shri Mysore V Subramanya (Performing Arts) and Shri N Ramanathan (Music) will receive the Akademi Awards 2013 for Overall Contribution/Scholarship to Performing Arts.

The honour of Akademi Fellow has been conferred since 1954 and Akademi Award since 1952. They not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and achievements on a national basis, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution to the practice and appreciation of the arts through performance, teaching and scholarship. The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of Rs 3,00,000/- (Rupees three lacs) and Akademi Awards carry Rs 1,00,000/- (Rupees one lac), besides Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

The list of Akademi Fellows and Akademi Awardees for the year 2013 is enclosed.

Helen Acharya Acting Secretary Sangeet Natak Akademi

SANGEET NATAK AKADEMI NEW DELHI

SANGEET NATAK AKADEMI FELLOWSHIPS AND AKADEMI AWARDS 2013

AKADEMI FELLOW (RATNA)

SMT KANAK RELE

SHRI R SATHYANARAYANA

SHRI MAHESH ELKUNCHWAR

AKADEMI AWARDS (PURASKAR) FOR THE YEAR 2013

FIELD OF ACTIVITY - MUSIC

SHRI RITWIK SANYAL HINDUSTANI VOCAL

SMT. VEENA SAHASRABUDDHE HINDUSTANI VOCAL

SHRI HASHMAT ALI KHAN HINDUSTANI INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC (TABLA)

SHRI DHRUBA GHOSH HINDUSTANI INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC (SARANGI)

SMT. ARUNA SAIRAM CARNATIC VOCAL

S/SHRI D. SESHACHARI& CARNATIC VOCAL

D RAGHAVACHARI (HYDERABAD BROTHERS)

SHRI TRICHY SANKARAN CARNATIC INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC (MRIDANGAM)

SHRI THIRUVIZHA JAYASHANKAR CARNATIC INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC (NADASWARAM)

SHRI BANKIM SETHI MAJOR TRADITIONS OF MUSIC (ODISSI MUSIC)

FIELD OF ACTIVITY - DANCE

SMT. JAMUNA KRISHNAN BHARATANATYAM

SHRI B HERAMBHANATHAN BHARATANATYAM

SMT RAJASHREE SHIRKE KATHAK

SHRI KALAMANDALAM M P S NAMBOODIRI KATHAKALI

SHRI CHINTA SEETHA RAMANJANEYULU KUCHIPUDI

SMT SANGEETA DASH ODISSI

SHRI JOGEN DUTTA BAYAN SATTRIYA

SHRI SRINIVASA RANGACHARIAR MAJOR TRADITIONS OF DANCE

& DANCE THEATRE (ARAYER SEVAI)

SHRI DHANESWAR SWAIN MUSIC FOR DANCE

FIELD OF ACTIVITY -THEATRE

SHRI RAMESHWAR PREM PLAYWRITING

SHRI PUNDALIK NARAYAN NAIK PLAYWRITING

SHRI KAMALAKAR MURALIDHAR SONTAKKE DIRECTION

SHRI KEWAL DHALIWAL DIRECTION

SMT. PRASANNA RAMASWAMY DIRECTION

SHRI VASANT JOSALKAR ACTING

SMT KUSUM HAIDAR ACTING

SHRI KRISHNA BORKAR ALLIED THEATRE ARTS (MAKE-UP)

FIELD OF ACTIVITY: TRADITIONAL/FOLK/TRIBAL MUSIC/DANCE/THEATRE & PUPPETRY

SMT. RAJ BEGUM TRADITIONAL, FOLK MUSIC/DANCE

& THEATRE(JAMMU & KASHMIR)

S/SHRI T.A.R. NADI RAO &N JEEVA RAO

(JOINT AWARD)

FOLK MUSIC (TAMILNADU)

SHRI GURDIAL SINGH INSTRUMENT MAKING (PUNJAB)

SHRI MOHAN SINGH KHANGURA RABINDRA SANGEET (WEST BENGAL)

SHRI UMAKANTA GOGOI (BAIRAGI) TOKARI GEET AND DEHBICHAR GEET, (ASSAM)

SMT LILAVATI M KAVI (BAJAJ) PUPPETRY

SMT MEENAKSHI INSTRUMENT MAKING - GHATAM (TAMILNADU)

SHRI SHEIKH RIYAJUDDIN FOLK THEATRE (MAHARASHTRA)

(ALIAS RAJUBABA)

FIELD OF ACTIVITY: OVERALL CONTRIBUTION / SCHOLARSHIP IN PERFORMING ARTS

SHRI MYSORE V SUBRAMANYA (PERFORMING ARTS)

SHRI N RAMANATHAN (MUSIC)