IEEE ERNST WEBER MANAGERIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

2016 – DAVID FAIRBANKS WELCH President, Infinera Corporation, Sunnyvale, California, USA

"For leadership in enabling the growth of cloudbased services and the Internet in optical transport networks."

2015 - SHANG-YI CHIANG Advisor to Chairman, TSMC, Los Gatos, California, USA "For visionary leadership in research and development establishing foundry, System-on-Chip, and 3-Dimensional Integrated Circuit technologies that transformed the industry."

2014—PAUL E. JACOBS
Chairman of the Board and Chief
Executive Officer, Qualcomm,
Inc.,
San Diego, California, USA

"For leadership in the development and commercialization of mobile technologies that contributed significantly to the growth of its global industry."

2013—GURURAJ DESHPANDE Chairman, Tejas Networks Bangalore, India "For demonstrating exceptional business innovation and visionary entrepreneurial leadership in the telecommunications network industry."

2012—TETSUYA IIZUKA
Founder & CEO, THine
Electronics, Inc., Tokyo, Japan

"For pioneering *de facto* standard video chips for moving images and nurturing entrepreneurship in Japan."

2011—TZE-CHIANG CHEN
IBM Fellow and Vice President of
Science and Technology, IBM
Research, Yorktown Heights, NY,
USA

"For engineering and managerial leadership in driving the world's most advanced silicon chip technologies from research to development to manufacturing."

2010—HIDEHITO OBAYASHI Chief Executive Officer and Director, Hitachi High-Technologies Corporation "For outstanding engineering and managerial leadership in the field of scanning electron microscopy, including the creation and development of critical dimension SEMs for VLSI manufacturing."

2009—NOT AWARDED

2008—NOT AWARDED

2007—NARAYANA N. R. MURTHY Chairman and Chief Mentor, Infosys Technologies Ltd., Bangalore, India "For a pioneering role in the globalization of information technology software and services, and leadership in establishing global business and governance practices in India."

2006—NOT AWARDED

2005—NOT AWARDED

IEEE ERNST WEBER MANAGERIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

2004—PASQUALE PISTORIO CEO and President, STMicroelectronics Geneva, Switzerland	"For leadership in revitalizing the semiconductor industry in Europe and increasing its influence worldwide."
2003—WILLIAM J. SPENCER Chairman & CEO Emeritus SEMATECH, Austin, TX, USA	"For engineering leadership in raising performance in semiconductor manufacturing and fostering cooperative work towards international standards."
2002—NOT AWARDED	
2001—MICHAEL J. BIRCK Tellabs Lisle, IL, USA	"For his entrepreneurial and technical leadership in founding Tellabs, a leader in digital cross connect systems and broadband access telecommunications products."
2001—CHRISTOPHER MARTIN EARNSHAW British Telecommunications Plc United Kingdom	"For technical and managerial leadership as Chief Technology Officer of British Telecommunications in the development and introduction of advanced networking technologies and communications platforms."
2000—JOEL S. BIRNBAUM Hewlett Packard Palo Alto, CA, USA	"For leadership in integrating, extending and shaping industrial research and development in measurement, computing and communications."
1999—BERNARD S. MEYERSON IBM/T. J. Watson Research Center Yorktown Heights, NY, USA	"For his leadership in bringing about seminal advances in growth and control of Si/SiGe heterostructures enabling the emergence of new technological applications."
1998—JEROME SWARTZ Symbol Technologies, Inc. Holtsville, NY, USA	"For exceptional technical and managerial leadership in the development of an industry based on mobile bar code scanners and related data transaction systems."
1998—ANGUS MCMILLAN TAIT Tait Electronics Ltd. Christchurch, New Zealand	"For leadership and contributions in creating and expanding radio communication approaches that achieved international recognition and success."
1997—JOHN H. CRAWFORD Intel Corporation Santa Clara, CA, USA	"For leadership in the development of microprocessors for the personal computer industry."

1997—WILLIAM J. WEISZ Motorola, Inc. "For engineering leadership and major contributions in two-way radio and paging

IEEE ERNST WEBER MANAGERIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

Schaumburg, IL, USA	systems."
1996—ALAN G. CHYNOWETH Bellcore Livingston, NJ, USA	"For the initiation, organization and inspired leadership of Bellcore's Applied Research Division."
1996—SOL TRIEBWASSER IBM Corporation Yorktown Heights, NY, USA	"For pioneering leadership in the development of MOS large scale integration."
1995—JOHN B. TERRY Bell Northern Research Ottawa, Ontario, Canada	"For technical and managerial leadership in developing digital switching systems and architectures for advanced telecommunications networks."
1994—CLARENCE G. THORNTON U.S. Army Electronics Technology and Devices Laboratory Fort Monmouth, NJ, USA	"For scientific and managerial leadership in developing military electronic technologies and for his key role in transferring these developments to industry and academia."
1993—PERCY BARNEVIK Asea Brown Boveri, Ltd. Zurich, Switzerland	"For managerial leadership in creating a global enterprise in the areas of electric power apparatus and systems, transportation, and environmental technologies."
1992—BERNARD M. GORDON Analogic Corporation Peabody, MA, USA	"Through his bold leadership, his many inventions, and his innovative entrepreneurial activities, he has been a prime contributor to the growth of electro-technology."
1991—SEYMOUR R. CRAY Cray Computer Corporation Colorado Springs, CO, USA	"For exceptional personal leadership in the design and construction of the world's highest performance general-purpose supercomputers."
1990—IRWIN DORROS Bell Communications Research, Inc. Livingston, NJ, USA	"For outstanding leadership in the creation and management of Bell Communications Research, Inc., an engineering and research organization which provides technical support to a national telecommunications network."
1990—EDSON FREGNI Spectrum, Ltd. Sao Paulo, Brazil	"For pioneering the computer industry in Brazil as founder and president of one of the first companies in the field of information technology, and as a major contributor to his country's national policy of technological development."

1989—ARNALDO M. ANGELINI

"For his leadership and exceptional contribution

IEEE ERNST WEBER MANAGERIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

ENEL Rome, Italy	to the reconstruction of his country after the war and the development of electric power systems elevating the level and the prestige of the engineering profession."
1989—ROLAND W. SCHMITT Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Troy, NY, USA	"For his leadership in directing one of the world's most diversified and prolific industrial research and development organizations, and for his contributions to national science and technology policy."
1988—RALPH E. GOMORY IBM Corporation Armonk, NY, USA	"For exemplary leadership in directing and utilizing the contributions of an outstanding research laboratory to effect major change in the technologies and standards of the computer industry."
1987—ANDREW S. GROVE INTEL Corporation Santa Clara, CA, USA	"For leadership in developing exemplary management and manufacturing practices, and for outstanding entrepreneurship in the semiconductor industry."
1986—WILLIAM C. NORRIS Control Data Corp.	"For engineering management leading to development of the Cyber series of the computers."
1986—KENNETH H. OLSEN Digital Equipment Corp.	"For engineering management leading to the development of the minicomputer."