Criminal Justice Legal Foundation _____

Board of Trustees

Chairman Emeritus Jan J. Erteszek (1913 - 1986)

Chairman

J. Kristoffer Popovich

Vice Chairman William A. Shaw

Michael Rushford

Secretary-Treasurer Mary J. Rudolph

Joseph F. Alibrandi

Hon. George Deukmejian

Patrick A. Doheny

Jerry B. Epstein

Barron Hilton

Michael H. Horner

Samuel J. Kahn

Glen McDaniel
John E. O'Brien

Faye Battiste Otto

Rick Richmond

Ted G. Westerman

Robert S. Wilson

Legal Advisory Committee

Hon. John A. Arguelles

Hon. Malcolm M. Lucas

Hon. Edwin Meese III

Hon. Edward Panelli

Hon. Robert K. Puglia

Legal Director & General Counsel

Kent S. Scheidegger

Academic Review Board

Prof. James Q. Wilson

Prof. George L. Kelling

Prof. Steven Levitt

Prof. Joseph M. Bessette

March 8, 2005

Gov. Rick Perry Office of the Governor P. O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711-2428

Re: Juveniles on Texas' Death Row

Dear Gov. Perry:

In 1972, the Supreme Court overturned all death sentences then in place. The quick-thinking Governor of Tennessee promptly commuted the existing death sentences to 99 years. This avoided judicial resentencing which could have resulted in making the murderers eligible for eventual release.

The murderers fought this action, but it was upheld by the Supreme Court in *Rose* v. *Hodges*, 423 U. S. 19 (1975). I therefore suggest that Texas give serious consideration to similar action in the cases of persons presently on your death row for murders committed before their eighteenth birthday. As you presently have no lifewithout-parole law, and any new one could not apply retroactively, this appears to be the only way to guarantee they will not be released.

Very truly yours,

Kent S. Scheidegger

Kent S. Fcheidegger