

Contact:

Cassandra Bosco 202-415-2798 cbosco@naa.aero

Robert J. Stevens To Receive 2012 Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy

Washington, DC, September 27, 2012 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) announced today that Bob Stevens, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Lockheed Martin Corporation, will receive the 2012 Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy for his dedication, leadership, and major contributions to the security of the United States.

NAA established this award in 1948 to honor the memory of Orville and Wilbur Wright. The trophy is awarded annually to a living American for significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States.

Walter Boyne, Chairman of the National Aeronautic Association and a member of the Selection Committee, praised the choice. "The impact that Lockheed Martin has made in our nation's aerospace industry under Mr. Stevens' leadership has been remarkable," Boyne said. "His leadership both within his company as well as our nation's defense community makes him a most worthy recipient of this award."

Stevens has been Chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin, America's largest systems integrator for defense and aerospace systems, since 2004. Prior to that, he held positions of increasing responsibility within the company to include President and Chief Operating Officer, Chief Financial Officer, and head of Strategic Planning. Under his direction, Lockheed Martin's impact on the United States' aerospace industry has been wide-ranging and unparalleled to include the introduction or continued development of military aircraft such as the F-35 Lightning II, F-22 Raptor, C-130J, and C-5M along with civilian programs like the En Route Automation Modernization program (ERAM) and Flight Services for the 21st Century (FS21).

A recognized leader in the aerospace industry, Mr. Stevens has been actively involved in many facets of the industry during his tenure as CEO of Lockheed Martin. He is a Fellow of the American Astronautical Society, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), the Royal Aeronautical Society, and the International Academy of Astronautics. In addition, in May 2012, AIAA named Bob an Honorary Fellow, its highest honor. He serves on the International Advisory Boards of the Atlantic Council and the British-American Business Council and also serves on the Executive Committee of the Aerospace Industries Association's Board of Governors. In January 2012, he was appointed by President Barack Obama to the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations and in 2001 was appointed to President George W. Bush's Commission on the Future of the U.S. Aerospace Industry. He is a veteran of the United States Marine Corps.

"For 64 years, the Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy has been bestowed upon some of the most historic aviation leaders in the world," said NAA President and CEO Jonathan Gaffney, who chaired the Selection Committee. "Mr. Stevens follows in the footsteps of some amazing people – from Charles Lindbergh and Lieutenant General James Doolittle to Herb Kelleher and Neil Armstrong – who have received this most cherished award." In addition to Mr. Boyne and Mr. Gaffney, members of the Selection Committee were:

- Robert Crandall, Wright Trophy Recipient 2004
- Major General Charles F. Bolden, Jr., USMC, (Ret.)
- The Honorable Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association
- Nicholas Calio, Airlines for America
- Dr. Mark Lewis, American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics
- Bob Bergman, Aero Club of Washington
- Tony Velocci, Aviation Week and Space Technology
- Henry Ogrodzinski, National Association of State Aviation Officials

Mr. Stevens will be presented with the award at the Wright Memorial Dinner hosted by the Aero Club of Washington on Friday, December 14, 2012, at the Washington Hilton Hotel. For more information on the award, please visit <u>www.naa.aero</u>. For more information on the Wright Memorial Dinner, please visit <u>www.aeroclub.org</u>.

###